Both landlords and tenants in Georgia don’t want to deal with an eviction notice. No tenant wishes to be evicted and no landlord wishes to go through a potentially lengthy, laborious, and costly eviction process. That said, as a landlord, sometimes evicting a tenant may be the only solution left.

Every state in the U.S., including Georgia, has an elaborate eviction process in place. You must follow the statewide eviction laws for the tenant removal to be successful. The first step in an eviction process begins with service an eviction notice. Depending on the violation committed, there are various eviction notice types.

In this post, we will focus on two types of quit notices: Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent and Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance.

Keep on reading to learn more.

Overview of the Notice to Quit in Georgia

As already mentioned, every possible ground for eviction has its own process and notice requirements.

1. Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent

As a landlord, you’re allowed to evict a tenant for nonpayment of rent.

As per Georgia statutes, rent becomes late a day after it becomes due. If you provide any grace periods, they must be clearly stated in the lease agreement.

Once the rent becomes due, you must notify your tenant before starting any eviction action against them. The notice may be verbal or written.

The Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent gives tenants two options: either pay due rent or move out within the notice period. If the tenant doesn’t pay or move out within the notice period, you can continue with their eviction.

You must include the following information on the Quit Notice for Nonpayment of Rent:

  • The name of the tenant
  • Address of the rental property
  • Date you served the notice to the tenant
  • Total rent amount the tenant owes you
  • Date that the overdue rent was due
  • A statement indicating that the tenant owes the rent and that it must be paid within 3 days
  • A statement indicating how the eviction notice was served to the tenant

Unlike most states, Georgia doesn’t specify the number of days to wait in order to file an eviction lawsuit. Generally, though, most landlords give their tenants anywhere between 24 hours and 10 days to comply with the eviction notice.

notice-to-quit

2. Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance

You may also be able to evict a tenant for gross violation of the lease agreement. Unlike the previous notice, this one doesn’t give tenants an opportunity to correct their violation. The only option the tenant has is to move out within 3 days.

Lease violations that fall under this category include:

  • Making unauthorized changes to the property
  • Having people who aren’t on the lease living in the property
  • Abandoning the property (moving out before the lease is up)
  • Having a pet when there is a no-pet policy in place
  • Causing excessive damage to the property

In order to start the eviction process, you must first notify the tenant. Again, the notice can either be verbal or written.

Georgia doesn’t specify how much notice landlords must give their tenants prior to filing an eviction lawsuit against them. However, most landlords will usually give their tenants anywhere between 24 hours and 10 days to comply.

If the tenant doesn’t comply, then you can move to court and file for their removal.

Here is the information to include in the eviction notice for non-compliance:

  • The date you served the tenant with the eviction notice
  • The tenant’s full name and address
  • The reason behind the eviction notice
  • A statement on how much time the tenant has to move out before filing an eviction lawsuit against them
  • A statement depicting how you served the eviction notice

Laws to Follow for Serving a Notice to Quit in Georgia

The Georgia eviction laws also state how landlords must serve the eviction notices. You have several options in this regard.

They are as follows:

  • By mail: You can choose to send the notice via regular, registered or certified mail. If you choose the certified option, make sure to request a return receipt.
  • Hand delivery: You can also choose to personally hand the eviction notice to the tenant. If you are not able to, you can also give it to someone living their rented premises who is at least 16 years old.
  • Post it at the premises: If you take this option, make sure to leave it somewhere visible, such as the front door.

When serving an eviction notice to a tenant in Georgia, these are your only options.

serving eviction notice

Bottom Line

As a landlord, you’re likely going to deal with a tenant eviction once in your career. If you do, you’ll have to serve the right notice.

We hope you learned more about the Notice to Quit for Nonpayment of Rent and the Notice to Quit for Non-Compliance.

For more information or further questions, contact Avalon Property Management today.

Disclaimer: This blog should not be used as a substitute for legal advice from a licensed attorney in your state. Laws frequently change, and this post might not be updated at the time of your reading. Please contact us for any questions you have in regard to this content or any other property management need.